A NSW Government website


Research excellence recognised at Sydney Innovation Week

Sydney Research Awards and Scholarships winners announced.

Three people standing on a stage together; first woman holding certificates
SydneyConnect Image: Award winner Professor Christine Lin with District Chief Executive Dr Teresa Anderson AM and Director of Research Professor Warwick Britton AO.

The Sydney Research Awards and Scholarships winners were announced during a special ceremony at the Sydney Innovation and Research Symposium during our District's Sydney Innovation Week.  

The awards and scholarships celebrate and encourage research excellence across the organisations in the Sydney Research partnership and offer support for early career researchers and clinicians to get involved in research.  

Sydney Research Award and Scholarship winners:  

The Annual Health Research Infrastructure Award is an early career researcher award recognising an individual with high research potential in basic science research.  

Winner: Dr Anthony Cutrupi, Hospital Scientist, Sydney Local Health District and ANZAC Research Institute 

The Clinician Researcher Scholarship encourages and supports clinicians seeking a clinical research career. Two recipients were awarded the scholarship this year due to the number of excellent applications. 

Winners: Dr Chu Luan Nguyen, Advanced Trainee, General Surgery, Sydney Local Health District and Chris O'Brien Lifehouse and Dr Charles Risbey, Senior Resident Medical Officer, General Surgery, University of Sydney and Sydney Local Health District.   

The Health Informatics Research Scholarship aims to encourage research into how clinicians, academics and researchers can work with health information and communication technology to improve the delivery of care and outcomes for patients.  

Winner: Dr Jeremy Tan, Clinical Glaucoma Fellow, University of Sydney.   

The Research Excellence Award for Best Publication recognises the best publication in a high-impact journal.  

Winner: Professor Christine Lin, Sydney Musculoskeletal Health for Opioid analgesia for acute low back pain and neck pain (the OPAL trial): a randomised placebo-controlled trial. 

The Research Supervisor Award recognises the outstanding achievements of a research supervisor.  

Winner: Professor Christine Lin, Sydney Musculoskeletal Health   

The Young Researcher Award recognises outstanding performance from an early career researcher. Due to their achievements, we recognised two early career researchers for this award in 2023.  

Winner: Dr Joshua Zadro, NHMRC Emerging Leader Fellow, Sydney Musculoskeletal Health and Dr Jacob Crouse, Research Fellow, Brain and Mind Centre, University of Sydney.